Match Reports‎ > ‎

U16 Leinster League Semifinal

posted 29 Mar 2011, 02:31 by Unknown user

Competition: Leinster League Semi Final

Venue: Duleek/Bellewstown at 5.30pm

Date: 25/03/2011

Against: St Mary’s RochfordBridge


A Beautiful eveving saw a big crowd turn out for this leinster league semi final meeting between Duleek/Bellewstown u16 vs St Marys Rochfortbridge u16.


Damian Moore’s men started quickly with 3 points from Shane Crosby, Eoin Morris and Steven Lynch. They were guilty of some wayward shooting when they really ought to have scored kicking 6 wides in the first fifteen minutes.


St Marys came into the game and dominated for the next fifteen minutes but only kicking 1-2 in that time. A brilliant opportunistic goal from Eoin Morris against the run of play gave Duleek/Bellewstown some breathing space.


Steven Lynch now at full forward turned to finish a brilliant goal to leave the scores at half time 2-3 to 1-2.


HALF TIME: Duleek/Bellewstown 2-03    ST Mary’s Rochfort Bridge 1-02


The second half started with Duleek/Bellewstown dominating for the first 10 minutes. Another long ball from Shane Townley to Lynch saw him turn and fire to the net. A free kick from Shane Crosby making the score 4-4 to 1-2. This sparked St Marys into life again scoring 2-3 without reply. It could have been much worse but for brilliant defending by Brannigan, Heeney, Walsh, Cooney Gogarty and Clarke who turned in a super man of the match performance which was hard to pick with some outstanding performances.


A break out from the defence saw the home team steal the game with a resulting free being dispatched from long range brilliantly scored by Shane Townley. A deserved win by a team who never stop working for each other with quality subs to come in and change a game. Duleek/Bellewstown ame out winners by two points in the end.


Final Score: Duleek/Bellewstown 4-04    St Mary’s Rohfort 3-05


Duleek/Bellewstown 1. D. Moore 2.Eoin Morris (1-01) 3.K Brannigan(capt) 4.Robin Clarke 5.C Gogarty 6.D Heeney 7.P Walsh 8.S Crosby (0-02) 9.S Townley (1-01) 10.R Cooney 11.S Lynch (2-01) 12.J Burke 13.P Reilly (M Brannigan 20 mins)14.G Reilly (S Moore 55 mins) 15.D Arnold (A oBrien 55 mins)