Match Reports‎ > ‎

DB V Summerhill Round 5 SFC 8th Sept in Pairc Tailteann

posted 10 Sep 2012, 11:15 by Unknown user


Duleek-Bellewstown put in a heroic performance as they almost saw off the senior champions Summerhill despite missing several of their first team regulars through injuries. The East Meath men fought right till the end and it was a point deep in injury time that earned Summerhill a hard earned victory as the men from East Meath led throughout the majority of this encounter.


It was centre forward Mark Collins that opened up the scoring from a forty five and further points from John Flood, Tony Cunningham and Collins again left it four points to one in favour of Duleek/Bellewstown after thirteen minutes of play. Two points apiece for Stephen Nolan and Mark Collins and a point for Kieron Collins meant that Duleek/Bellewstown led at the interval by five points as the scores finished 0-09 to 0-05 in favour of Duleek/Bellewstown.


The second half saw Duleek/Bellewstown lose their influential forward Mark Collins through a shoulder injury and losing their corner back Stephen Mc Ardle in the first half only added to Duleek/bellewstown growing injury list. Despite these losses Duleek/Bellewstown kept battling away. Points from Stephen Nolan (0-02), Mark Collins, Tony Cunningham and John Flood meant that Summerhill came out winners by a single point as a goal for Summerhill midway through the second half proved to be the match winner.


Best for Duleek/Bellewstown where Shane Townley, Tony Cunningham, Eanna Byrne and Mark Collins.



 D/B   0-14               SummerHill 1-12


Duleek/Bellewstown team:


1.  Anthony Dowling

2. Des Teeling

3. Brian Moore

4. Stephen Mc Ardle

5. Shane Townley

6. Kevin Mc Cann

7. David Moore

8. Eanna Byrne

9. Tony Cunningham (0-02)

10. Darren Mills

11. Mark Collins (0.05)

12. Darren Mills

13. Stephen Nolan (0-04)

14. John Flood (0.02)

             15. Kieron Collins (0-01)



           Adam Everard for Stephen Mc Ardle

           Wayne Noone for Mark Collins

           Ryan Cooney for Stephen Townley

            Jaimie Flaherty for Ricky Nolan